After Ma(ra)th – on

After the Sunday’s marathon, I worked from home on Monday and Tuesday and went out for a walk on Tuesday evening. I didn’t want to cook so I got a tartine( a Belgian open sandwich) and soup from le pain quotidien located at 1st Av. and 83rd st. The sandwich had a lot of oil(harissa) in it and after 2 slices I decided not to have it more and have the soup as my throat had started paining. Next morning I decided to resume running. Geared up, I went out and started the routine. Something didn’t feel right but I didn’t give much heed. After around 0.9 mile I started heaving and was on verge of collapse. I sat down on the sidewalk to gather myself. My head was spinning and I was gasping for breaths.Throat was paining a lot. Something was terribly wrong. I reached home and sat on the floor and dozed off. I woke up with a choking feeling, threw the phlegm and heated water in a dizzy state for gargling. I put on some warm clothes and scoured the apartment for any paracetamol and cetrizine(antihistamine). I couldn’t find any and had no strength at all to go to CVS which is literally stone’s throw distance from me. In my medicine box there were tablets of Moxikind and deriphylline. These were the medicines I took when I had a brief but intense interaction with bronchitis 10 years ago. It clicked me at once. The oil from that sandwich switched on the bronchitis attack by irritating my throat. I popped up a pill of each and went to bed. Next morning I did feel a little better but my wonderful body has a tendency to develop fever every time I get sore throat. And the fever followed. I laid in my bed for 2 straight days watching arbitrary YouTube videos and sleeping. The most difficult thing was arranging food. I needed soups, breads and light sandwiches. Eat24, Seamless and Grubhub offer great services but I couldn’t rely on the external food material and the oil. I stood in front of kitchen for some time thinking what to cook and I realized that I have to cook for myself and no one else. I am not doing favor to anyone by cooking for myself. Yes, I didn’t have the strength to stand up for long but it made me think of all the mothers who cook for their families. Every day without fail. In sickness and in health, they manage to put at least some kind of edible food material on the table. And here I am trying to chicken out. I gathered my strength and prepared few sandwiches, lentil soup for myself. I am not fully recovered yet. I slept till 8 am today, cleaned the apartment a little bit, took a shower. I still have weakness in my legs,my breath is still warmer than normal, temperature is high but throat pain has subsided.

Till now, I had seen the plus sides of living alone but this week showed me being ill and alone in NY is tough but one has to move on.

Leave a Reply

