Maifun ?? What?

I am a vegetarian, so I have to take extra care while purchasing noodles from the stores. Careful examination of the ingredients is the only possible check I can have so as not to introduce any non-veg based edible item in my diet. So, I was walking down the aisle of the int’l foods when I saw this packet of miafun. Trust me, before buying it, I din’t even have the slightest idea of what the heck this Miafun is. I just read, rice flour, corn oil and it was in my basket. 

Upon coming home, I thought of starting my cooking with the rice sticks only, I tore the pack open and was disappointed to see such sleek noodles. I put them to boil, but they were so rigid that they were not fitting in pan. Actually they were so slender that few of them which were dangling out of the pan , caught fire. Then I read about these noodles on internet and was glad to know that they are the healthiest noodles available. Can be used in salad, as pure noodles or some deserts as well.

I had caramelized half of the red onion in balsamic vinegar and olive oil. It tastes sweet keeping the fundamental smell of onion. I liked this experiment of mine. 

Veg Miafun/rice sticks with onions in balsamic vinegar and salad of grapes and cucumbers made it a healthy dinner for me.

Image

Leave a Reply

