Mir publishers Russia

EDITORIAL_MIR

 

 

Since my childhood I have been a fan of Russian empire; I don’t know the reason. Things related to the Siberian land have been dear and fascinating to me. I can’t remember clearly but it was a documentary genre lesson in our hindi book of class 6th on the Soviet union that increased my interest in that society. Then I guess, the red revolution, bolsheviks, Mensheviks, Lenin, cosmonauts and some other history lessons accentuated my interests in it. I also remember reading one translated book in the library in which few kids try to build their own incubator and hatch the chickens. These are few instances I remember that catalyzed the spark.

In high school, when I was preparing for the IIT entrance exam I stumbled upon a very sleek book of physics called General problems in Physics by I E Irodov; It was my sister’s book when she was preparing for all the exams. I saw that the book is of just Rs 50/- ,and the questions are continuous, without even a gap of a blank line between consecutive questions. First chapter is Kinematics. I discussed about the book in school, those people who were taking formal coaching classes told me that it is said to be one of the toughest books. Rahul also told me that it is a God book for JEE entrance. I decided to try it. I took the book to school, and started with the very first problem given in the 2nd period of school timings. I didn’t have much knowledge of vectors then hence my kinematics was quite weak. Ultimately I solved the problem in the 6th period. It took me good 1 hour to crack the problem; I remember the question was on calculating average speed.  After that day the book became an obsession for me. I carried it everywhere and used to get immense internal satisfaction if I could  solve its problems. I really regret that my brain was so analytical and had decent IQ when I used to work those problems out and now  it has just is rusting and being in atrophy .

Well, my main  point of concern was not exemplifying the glory of Irodov but was in the publisher of the book. I had noticed that some Mir publishers is behind the publication.

After few days, I came to know of I A Maron, G N Bermen both of Mir publishers print. Those were amazing books as well. The books from the soviet era have a different charm; they are very good in the content and the concept building. Especially in the area of Physics and Maths. I came to know recently why Physics and Maths were popular in Russia. They had this concept that Physics and Maths are the subjects that will take the communism forward while one scientific discipline – genetics suffered the Lysenkoism. Lysenko convinced Stalin that study of genetics is against concept of communism.

Nevertheless, now I want to revive my interest in the collection of those fascinating books from the soviet era. I have few pdf files of some of the very famous books.Please ask for them through your mail. and also if you have any then can you please send them to me.We can create a community and revive those beautiful learning material by preserving it and distributing it.

44 comments

  1. Please send me ALL the books that you have. I’ll be waiting eagerly for your email. I have some MIR books in print which I’ve scanned. Maybe, you’ll be interested in some of them.
    Thanks in advance for sharing these gems.

    1. i am looking for a book titled(solving problems in algebra and trigonometry) by litvenenko and mordkovich .can u help me out

  2. Please send me ALL the books that you have. I’ll be waiting eagerly for your email [rinfinityplus-at-gmail.com]. I have some MIR books in print which I’ve scanned. Maybe, you’ll be interested in some of them.
    Thanks in advance for sharing these gems.

      1. i am looking for a book titled(solving problems in algebra and trigonometry) by litvenenko and mordkovich .can u help me out

  3. This is Dhaivat shah from Gujarat. I am a chemical engineer

    As I understand the Name of MIR Publications is very well known in the
    world so far from the college days i am aware of the quality and
    content of books published by Mir publications
    do you have any books in pdf format?

    1. Basic Chemical Engineering with Practical Applications
    2. Chemical Technology : volumes 1 and 2 : I. P. Mukhlyonov
    3. Fundamentals of Heat Engineering : V. Okhotin, V. Zhidkikh, V.
    Lavygin, F. Salomzoda
    4. Fundamentals of Mass Transfer, Gas-Liquid, Vapour-Liquid and
    Liquid-Liquid Systems : V. Kafarov
    5. Heat and Mass Transfer: A. Lurkov
    6. Occupational Health and safety in Manufacturing Industries :
    M. K. Poltev
    7. Problems and Exercises in General Chemistry
    8. Problems in Heat Transfer : N. Krasnoshchevo and A. Seekomal
    9. Pumps Fans Compressors : V.M. Cherkassky
    10. Repair of Industrial Equipment : B. Golberg
    11. Steam and Gas Turbines : Edited by A. Kostyuk and V. Frolov
    12. Testing and Adjustment of Steam Boilers
    13. Engineering Drawing : S. Bogolyubov and A. Voinov
    14. Catalyst Technology by L.Mukhlyonov
    15. theory of heat treatment of metals by I.Novikov
    16. Mathematical modelling of chemical processes
    Rabinovich, Leo M.
    17. Catalyst surface: physical methods of studying
    Minachev, Kh M. Shpiro, E. S.

  4. Dear friend can you please send me the pdf books of mir publications on my mail id, becoz I am a fan of mir publications books & I didn’t get it in the market.

    1. i am looking for a book titled(solving problems in algebra and trigonometry) by litvenenko and mordkovich .can u help me out

      1. i am a math teacher .please let me know if u have some good books of maths for iit jee

  5. HI Even i am collecting the Mir publication book ,I have may book with me all related to techinical if any one interested please let me know ,and i am also looking for more books please share if any one having them
    Harshad

    1. Dear Sanket, I am Gamini from Sri Lanka. I am looking for MIR publication in Machine Design. I am also having some on machine design,mechanical engineering. May I know if you have any books in machne design?

  6. Nice to see another Mir Publisher fan. I not only love books published by Mir Publishers but also other Russian publishers as well. Which Mir Publisher books do you have?

    1. I should be having TrigonometricFunctions – Panchishkin ,Theory of Probability-Gnedenko,problemsinmaths-Barenenkov,physicsforentertainment-Perelman,Kochina,.Love.and.Mathematics,.Sofya.Kovalevskaya,Inequalities-P P Korovkin,Ginzburg V L – Key Problems of Physics and Astrophysics – Mir – 1976

    2. i am looking for a book titled(solving problems in algebra and trigonometry) by litvenenko and mordkovich .can u help me out

  7. Hi I am a electrical engineer and I am from Bangalore …. I am very much interested in electrical engineering books …. Is it possible to send pdf version of mir book on electrical engineering to my email id. My email id is ranga.eee@gmail.com

    1. Hi Ranga ! Thanks for dropping by.

      I should be having TrigonometricFunctions – Panchishkin ,Theory of Probability-Gnedenko,problemsinmaths-Barenenkov,physicsforentertainment-Perelman,Kochina,.Love.and.Mathematics,.Sofya.Kovalevskaya,Inequalities-P P Korovkin,Ginzburg V L – Key Problems of Physics and Astrophysics – Mir – 1976 .

      Will have to look for electrical engineering books.

  8. Hi,

    I am searching Steam and Gas Turbines : Edited by A. Kostyuk and V. Frolov of Mir publication book, could any suggest availability of this book in india.

    1. Thank you Mrs. Athreya ! I had posted it 3 or 4 years ago. Now I even know the history behind the Physics and Mathematics education of the erstwhile soviet union and how Lysenkoism is attributed to the benefit of the above mentioned fields of study.

  9. Hello,
    I am very happy to see collection of MIR books. I used some of them 30 years ago. I lost it. Now I want to have them to read over agin. Can you send me the list of the books?
    Thanks a lot

    1. Hi Nora! Thanks for visiting the blog of mine. As far as I know I don’t think that Mir publishers exists anymore, it got divided into individual units that publish books in Russia and Ukraine post disintegration of USSR.

Leave a Reply

